Ipsy Bag September 2013: Classic Beauty

Ipsy is one of my favorite beauty subscriptions.  They include 5 full and deluxe sized items in a different make-up bag for just $10/month.  They definitely give you a lot of bang for your buck and I love getting a new make-up bag each month!  I find that out of all of my subscriptions, these products are the ones I keep most often rather than gifting/swapping.  If you are interested in subscribing to Ipsy, click the link below and I will get referral points  :)

http://www.ipsy.com/?refer=u-hfzsqac0uxamek6

Image

Here’s what I got:

-Black & Blue Floral/Butterfly Printed Bag (bonus)

The bags are never included in the price and are considered a bonus.  I absolutely love this bag!

-Cailyn Tinted Lip Balm in “Big Apple” (full size!) (retail $19)

I said the value is definitely there!  I absolutely love Cailyn products.  Their gel eyeliner is one of my faves and I really love that they have a built-in a brush in the cap.  The packaging on these is just so sexy!  Unfortunately, I just got a ton of lip products and red is not my color (though I believe this goes on pretty sheer and is buildable), so I’m going to swap this.

-NYX Eye Shadow in “Lanikai” (full size!) (retail $2.49)

Ipsy seems to love NYX products.  I have mixed feelings about their products (I am “scent-sitive” and don’t care for the smell of their lipsticks).  Blue is not really my shade, so I’m going to add this to my swap board.

-Starlooks Kohl Eye Pencil in “Obsidian” (full size!) (retail $12)

Ah, Ipsy, Starlooks is not going to appreciate me canceling my Starbox subscription because you include so many of their great products!  It’s sad, but I’ve decided that I really don’t need both.  I receive Starbox as well, so I already have this.  I may keep it as an extra.

-It’s So Big Volumizing Mascara (sample size 4ml) (retail $19.99/full size 10ml)

I don’t wear mascara (terrible eye allergies) but seem to receive a different one in almost every one of my subscription boxes.  Swap!

-Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels (2 pairs) (retail $30/8 pairs)

I’ve never heard of this product but am definitely excited to try it.  These under-eye patches claim to fight off the puffiness and premature wrinkling caused by stress.  We own our own business, so I am definitely stressed, and often have swollen eyes due to my allergies, so I can’t wait to slap these on and see how they feel.

-The Life Palette Career Life in “Look 3: Out to Lunch” (bonus sample card)

This isn’t included in the price of the bag and is only a sample card, but I figured I’d throw it in here since it was in my bag.  These colors come from a full size palette that includes 36 shades for eyes, cheeks and lips, with 4 curated looks.  My sample card includes a swatch worth of cheek and 3 eyes, just enough to feel for texture and aesthetic properties.  Ooooh, super silky! Nice, light neutral shades, but I have way too many palettes already (thanks Starlooks and Urban Decay!) so I’m going to pass on picking up this one.

I thought this was a pretty great bag.  I paid only $10 for this bag, including the shipping and received over $45 worth of products plus the make-up bag!  While I’m only keeping 2 of the 5 products + the bag, the other 3 should trade fairly easily and were still great items (just not for me).  Ipsy continues to be one of my favorite bags!  Check them out at:

http://www.ipsy.com/?refer=u-hfzsqac0uxamek6

Standard

2 thoughts on “Ipsy Bag September 2013: Classic Beauty

  1. Pingback: My September Ipsy Glam Bag | 50 Things Before I Turn 50

Leave a Reply

